Here & Now http://kvpr.org en Boston Is Ready To Run Again http://kvpr.org/post/boston-ready-run-again One of the biggest fields ever will assemble in Hopkinton, Massachusetts, for the 118th Boston Marathon on Monday morning, which is Patriots&#8217; Day in Massachusetts. It&#8217;s the first Boston Marathon since the bombings near the finish line last April.<p>This year, 36,000 people will be running, including elite athletes from all around the world. Fri, 18 Apr 2014 19:24:00 +0000 editor 31406 at http://kvpr.org Boston Is Ready To Run Again Boston Marathon Inspires At Children's Cancer Clinic http://kvpr.org/post/boston-marathon-inspires-childrens-cancer-clinic While the Boston Marathon will be the center of international attention this year, the marathon has always been a focal point at a Boston clinic that treats children with cancer.<p>For each of the past 16 marathons, many patients at the pediatric cancer program at Massachusetts General Hospital have been paired with runners &#8212; using the race&#8217;s symbol of endurance and strength to the youngsters undergoing cancer treatment.<p>Two former patients ran last year but were stopped before the finish line because of the bombings.<p>But they&#8217;ll be back &#8212; running this year, determi Fri, 18 Apr 2014 19:24:00 +0000 editor 31407 at http://kvpr.org Boston Marathon Inspires At Children's Cancer Clinic First Embryonic Stem Cells Cloned From Adults http://kvpr.org/post/first-embryonic-stem-cells-cloned-adults For the first time, scientists have successfully grown stem cells from adults using cloning techniques.<p>This development, published in Thursday’s online edition of the journal <a href="http://www.cell.com/cell-stem-cell/home" target="_blank">Cell Stem Cell</a>, brings scientists closer to developing patient-specific lines of cells that can be used to treat medical ailments.<p>NPR science correspondent <strong>Richard Harris</strong> discusses this breakthrough and ethical controversy this discovery might elicit with <a href="http://hereandnow.wbur.org/"><em>Here & Now&#8217;</em></a>s Meghna Fri, 18 Apr 2014 19:24:00 +0000 editor 31408 at http://kvpr.org Jane Goodall Plants 'Seeds Of Hope' http://kvpr.org/post/jane-goodall-plants-seeds-hope Primatologist <strong>Jane Goodall</strong> is known for her groundbreaking work with the chimpanzees in Gombe National Park in Tanzania. But she also has a lifelong love of trees.<p>&#8220;To me, trees are living beings and they have their own sort of personalities,&#8221; she tells <em><a href="http://hereandnow.wbur.org/">Here & Now&#8217;</a></em>s Robin Young. Thu, 17 Apr 2014 19:12:00 +0000 editor 31342 at http://kvpr.org Jane Goodall Plants 'Seeds Of Hope' New Military Rules On Hair Create Controversy http://kvpr.org/post/new-military-rules-hair-create-controversy There are now more than 17,000 signatures on a <a href="http://https://petitions.whitehouse.gov/petition/reconsider-changes-ar-670-1-allow-professional-ethnic-hairstyles/BnR900wx" target="_blank">new White House petition</a>, calling on the Obama administration to reconsider new Army regulations about hair and grooming.<p>And the women in the Congressional Black Caucus have also sent a <a href="http://cbc.fudge.house.gov/press-releases/women-members-of-the-cbc-send-letter-to-dod-secretary-hagel-on-unauthorized-hairstyles/" target="_blank">letter</a> to Defense Secretary Chuck Hagel, to the sam Thu, 17 Apr 2014 19:12:00 +0000 editor 31343 at http://kvpr.org New Military Rules On Hair Create Controversy General Mills' New Privacy Policy Restricts Consumers' Right To Sue http://kvpr.org/post/general-mills-new-privacy-policy-restricts-consumers-right-sue If you download a coupon for Cheerios or Cocoa Puffs, or &#8220;like&#8221; a General Mills product on Facebook, you may be barred from suing the company.<p>General Mills has changed its privacy policy. Thu, 17 Apr 2014 19:12:00 +0000 editor 31344 at http://kvpr.org General Mills' New Privacy Policy Restricts Consumers' Right To Sue DJ Sessions: Blurring The Lines Between Rock, Jazz And Classical http://kvpr.org/post/dj-sessions-blurring-lines-between-rock-jazz-and-classical In the latest installment of DJ Sessions, pianist <strong>Christopher O&#8217;Riley</strong> joins <em><a href="http://hereandnow.wbur.org/">Here & Now&#8217;</a></em>s Jeremy Hobson to talk about his favorite group that&#8217;s making waves in the classical community.<p>O&#8217;Riley says <a href="http://www.thebadplus.com/" target="_blank">The Bad Plus</a> is comprised of great composers. Wed, 16 Apr 2014 19:30:00 +0000 editor 31286 at http://kvpr.org DJ Sessions: Blurring The Lines Between Rock, Jazz And Classical ER Doctor Looks Back A Year After Marathon Bombing http://kvpr.org/post/er-doctor-looks-back-year-after-marathon-bombing On this day a year ago, Bostonians got one of their first glimpses into the aftermath of the Boston Marathon bombing, when emergency room physician <strong>Ron Medzon</strong> came on our program.<p>&#8220;It was just one after another after another,” he said of the victims being brought into the hospital. “Every single person had a limb-threatening injury, a life-threatening injury. And I think 20 people came in over 40 minutes, which is just incredible.”<p>Thirteen area hospitals received 180 patients. Emergency rooms turned into MASH units. A year after the marathon bombing, Dr. Wed, 16 Apr 2014 19:30:00 +0000 editor 31287 at http://kvpr.org ER Doctor Looks Back A Year After Marathon Bombing Slow Start To Spring Housing Market http://kvpr.org/post/slow-start-spring-housing-market Usually as the weather heats up, so does the U.S. housing market. Wed, 16 Apr 2014 19:30:00 +0000 editor 31288 at http://kvpr.org Boston Marks First Anniversary Of Marathon Bombing http://kvpr.org/post/boston-marks-first-anniversary-marathon-bombing A somber anniversary is being marked in Boston today. Tue, 15 Apr 2014 19:17:00 +0000 editor 31240 at http://kvpr.org Boston Marks First Anniversary Of Marathon Bombing 'Philomena' DVD Brings Real Philomena To New Audiences http://kvpr.org/post/philomena-dvd-brings-real-philomena-new-audiences Today, the DVD of the Oscar-nominated film &#8220;Philomena&#8221; is being released. One of the special features contained on the DVD is an interview with the real Philomena Lee. Tue, 15 Apr 2014 19:17:00 +0000 editor 31241 at http://kvpr.org Talking Pot With Teens In Colorado http://kvpr.org/post/talking-pot-teens-colorado When Colorado voters passed Amendment 64 back in November of 2012, they set in motion an effort that has focused on setting up a system for people to legally obtain recreational marijuana.<p>But there’s been less attention on how to keep pot away from those who aren’t supposed to use it &#8212; anyone under 21 years of age. Tue, 15 Apr 2014 19:17:00 +0000 editor 31242 at http://kvpr.org Talking Pot With Teens In Colorado How To Start Conversations With Total Strangers http://kvpr.org/post/how-start-conversations-total-strangers Have you ever gone up to an intriguing looking person at a party, tried to start a conversation and froze? Or perhaps you just babbled mundanely about the weather? Mon, 14 Apr 2014 21:30:00 +0000 editor 31191 at http://kvpr.org How To Start Conversations With Total Strangers 'Blood Moon' Begins Series Of Lunar Eclipses http://kvpr.org/post/blood-moon-begins-series-lunar-eclipses Stargazers are in for a treat if they&#8217;re willing to stay up late tonight. A rare lunar eclipse known as a blood-moon will begin tomorrow morning at about 2 a.m. Eastern time. The full eclipse will last from about 3 a.m. Mon, 14 Apr 2014 21:30:00 +0000 editor 31192 at http://kvpr.org 'Blood Moon' Begins Series Of Lunar Eclipses Development Forces Out Pronghorn Antelope http://kvpr.org/post/development-forces-out-pronghorn-antelope When we think of the American West, we picture wide open spaces. Mon, 14 Apr 2014 21:30:00 +0000 editor 31193 at http://kvpr.org Development Forces Out Pronghorn Antelope Father-Son Team To Run One Last Boston Marathon http://kvpr.org/post/father-son-team-run-one-last-boston-marathon Later this month is the 118th running of the Boston Marathon, and this year&#8217;s race is especially significant because it&#8217;s the first time it&#8217;s being run since last year&#8217;s bombing at the finish line. Because of that attack, two people will be taking part in this year&#8217;s Boston Marathon who hadn&#8217;t intended to be there: Dick and Rick Hoyt.<p>For years, some spectators have come out just to see them &#8212; the compact, muscular man and his quadriplegic son, the father running while pushing a wheelchair all 26.2 miles. Fri, 11 Apr 2014 18:57:00 +0000 editor 31069 at http://kvpr.org Father-Son Team To Run One Last Boston Marathon Central African Republic Plagued By Ethnic Conflict As U.N. Pledges Help http://kvpr.org/post/central-african-republic-plagued-ethnic-conflict-un-pledges-help As Rwanda commemorates the anniversary of the genocide there 20 years ago this week, its neighbor, the Central African Republic, continues to suffer brutal ethnic violence.<p>The United Nations Security Council voted unanimously yesterday to assemble a peacekeeping force to help stem the C.A.R. conflict.<p><strong>Alexandra Zavis</strong> of the L.A. Times <a href="http://www.latimes.com/world/worldnow/la-fg-wn-central-african-republic-un-peacekeepers-20140410,0,6680887.story#axzz2yaWmGiBG" target="_blank">has been covering</a> the story and recently traveled through the country. Fri, 11 Apr 2014 18:57:00 +0000 editor 31070 at http://kvpr.org Central African Republic Plagued By Ethnic Conflict As U.N. Pledges Help What's Behind The Auto Recall Surge? http://kvpr.org/post/whats-behind-auto-recall-surge BMW is the latest automaker to announce a car recall. Yesterday, the automaker announced it&#8217;s recalling 156,137 luxury cars and SUVs because of possible stalling issues.<p>This comes on the heels of Toyota&#8217;s recall announcement this week, and General Motors&#8217; recent vehicle recall notices. Fri, 11 Apr 2014 18:57:00 +0000 editor 31071 at http://kvpr.org What's Behind The Auto Recall Surge? Marking The 50th Anniversary Of The Civil Rights Act http://kvpr.org/post/marking-50th-anniversary-civil-rights-act This week, U.S. presidents are heading to Austin, Texas, to commemorate the 50-year anniversary of the the Civil Rights Act of 1964.<p>Former presidents Jimmy Carter, Bill Clinton and George W. Bush are all scheduled to speak in addition to President Obama at the Civil Rights Summit at the Lyndon B. Johnson Presidential Library in Austin, Texas.<p>The anniversary not only honors the legislation, but the president behind it, Lyndon B. Johnson. Thu, 10 Apr 2014 20:00:00 +0000 editor 31015 at http://kvpr.org DJ Sessions: 'Vibey' And Melodic With Anthony Valadez http://kvpr.org/post/dj-sessions-vibey-and-melodic-anthony-valadez KCRW&#8217;s <strong>Anthony Valadez</strong> joins <em><a href="http://hereandnow.wbur.org/">Here & Now&#8217;</a></em>s Jeremy Hobson for the latest installment of DJ Sessions.<p>From Brooklyn electro-soul duo <a href="http://www.denitiaandsene.com/" target="_blank">Denitia and Sene</a> to Toronto jazz trio <a href="https://badbadnotgood.com/" target="_blank">BadBadNotGood</a>, he brings us &#8220;vibey&#8221; and melodic sounds that might make you want to roll down your car window and drive.<p><ul> <li><a href="http://hereandnow.wbur.org/tag/dj-sessions" target="_blank">More <em>Here & Now< Thu, 10 Apr 2014 20:00:00 +0000 editor 31016 at http://kvpr.org DJ Sessions: 'Vibey' And Melodic With Anthony Valadez